Mononucleosis
Saturday, Jul. 03, 2010 - 9:57 PM

Mononucleosis. Sounds like a crazy stupid childrens rhyme. Mononucleosis expialadocious ashes ashes we all fall down.

Great thing happened to me this morning. After waking up several times during the night from excruciating pain that prevented me from swallowing, or sleeping, or anything... Tried to talk to my mum after getting rudely woken up at 7am and realized my throat was so swollen I could hardly talk. And feeling the small gap between the back of your throat and your swollen glands is actually quite terrifying.

So off to the hospital I went, because the Quebec health care system sucks and I don't have a PCP since I graduated university. And they stole my blood to confirm it was mono and the nurse/doctor guy who drew my blood was cruising me (his words, not mine). It was cute, thats a good doc who whether he was serious or not knew how to put a patient at ease before sticking a needle into their arm. I always hate that shit. Plus he let me sleep in the ER room while I waited for test results instead of sitting in the waiting room. Being cute really does help sometimes.

Did I mention I had to drive myself there? A good 20 minute drive, country roads, sunshine.. nice weather at least. Drove by a doe with two newborn fawns who thankfully decided not to cross the road in front of me. I died from the cuteness. I miss when Bebe was a fawn.

And I got my drugs, thank god for codeine cough syrup and cortizone aka steroids. Thank GOD. And surprisingly, I was at one point the only person in the ER waiting room of that pathetic tiny excuse for a hospital so I was in and out pretty fast.

Then I went home and slept, gave myself a pedicure, and made a fab pizza that I could hardly taste. Gave the deer her bottle, bullshat online, and now I guess I'll go to bed. Because life here is boring. Being sick and tired so lame and frustrating. Miserable.

I sat on the front porch for a bit today, listening to the wind in the trees and fields. I closed my eyes and imagined I was on the dock at camp, listening to the waves and the happy cries of kids playing. I just want to go back to work.

Yeah that was my day..

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design