Changes
Tuesday, Sept. 03, 2013 - 8:07 AM

I wish I had the mindset to be a blogger. It just seems like a really fun job. I wish I had enough ideas to warrant a new post every day or at least every week. My art blog is, um, nearly nonexistant these days. Not because I'm not genius and innovative, I just don't have much to say. Happens when you spent two months of your life sick as a dog. Its something that I will pick back up soon, I'm sure. Because although I don't have a lot of ideas, I have ideas. And soon, I will have plenty of time on my hands.

Why you ask?

Because I got the job. At a point where I had finally begun to accept the fact that they didn't even like me enough to consult my references, they called me on a Saturday evening to let me know. My heart jumped and sank at the same time. This will mean a lot of changes.

Change.

Let's not go there. Let's not revisit.. lets see.. 1999, 2006, 2010, summer 2011.. All tumultuous times revolving around major life changes and difficult periods of adjustment. At least now I realize this, and know that I can expect my heart to be heavy at times. Because face it, without change you will stagnate. Life won't progress, you will rot. I felt like I was beginning to rot in the last few months, and I knew I had to make big changes. So the big changes are here.

I gave my two weeks notice yesterday. My boss is super happy for me, I knew he would be. I feel bad for him and the gym and the staff because there isn't anyone of my caliber to take my place. I don't know what's going to happen. I would hire someone from the outside to come in and take the managerial position, at this point. But instead he seems to trust the 19 year old that I just hired a few months ago.. I question this but I know that my boss is a mastermind and there must be good reasoning behind this decision. Maybe he has other plans that I don't know about. He wants to find someone who is committed to this gym and this industry for the long term, so he can mold them to be the person he needs running his business.. and why not take on a young eager hardworking puppy that he can train to suit his needs? It kind of makes sense. I just know puppies are a lot of work in the beginning-- though if you train them right they will be the best dogs you will ever have.

Regardless, I am so attached to that place that they'll never get rid of me. I'll always be around when I'm in town, I'll continue my training and hopefully one day be the proud owner of a jiu jitsu blue belt.. one of my goals in life is to at least get to that point. And you never know where life will take me. Maybe I'll win the lotto and buy a share of the business.. legitimately, I would. Or I would maybe think of running youth programs putting adolescents and teens in MMA to teach them all of the wonderful values and give them a positive outlet.

So that is that. I start in two weeks, train for a month, then go out into the world to spread my message. Like I said it will require a lot of lifestyle changes to have a job that requires me to spend time on the road, but I'm not worried. My heart tells me this is right. When I sent my CV for this job I was shaking with excitement, I just knew right then that this was it. I need to trust that cosmic intuitive force and just go with it

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design