My artistic rebirth
Tuesday, Nov. 01, 2011 - 12:08 PM

Isn't it funny how a lot of major realizations come to you while you're stuck in traffic?

So I figured out what was wrong. My ridiculous painful artistic writers block, I mean.

You see, my recent work is meaningless. Its just, there. That's the reason why it sucks.

Some people can do that, visionaries such as the abstract expressionists and landscape painters can create works that don't mean anything, have no symbolism, whatever. But maybe I'm just not one of them, because all my work sucks when there's nothing deeper inside.

I was inspired (I think I might have been in traffic again, or just about to fall asleep) to create this series in recent days.

I took a roller to three paintings from first year at university and gesso'd over them. I thought I would regret it instantly, and be like NOOOOOoooOOOooOO but I was actually relieved. Now I don't have to look at those crappy paintings.. and in their stead are three white canvases, almost like new.

Was kind of therapeutic in a way.

Plus, canvas is expensive.

So instead of just moving straight to step 4 or 5 and splashing paint on these beautiful fresh canvases, I will actually think about this, and sketch, and think, and write, and sketch, and think.

Wish me luck.

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design