The Glass Cage
Monday, Dec. 17, 2012 - 12:39 PM

Locked inside a glass cage
Shackles bind my wrists
They are delicate, fragile
But can only be broken by the power of will
All my strength I've given away
The worst kind of prison
Is the one that one makes themselves
Built by the confines of the mind
I cannot help but gaze through the bars
Inside, time stands still
But outside, the world passes by
Life continues on around me
As time drags on, I have failed to make a break
The glass cage is comforting
It is home
I gaze outside longingly
Yet it is not enough to break the ties that bind me
How can cold restraint feel so good?
It is because I know that without the metal links binding me
My life would be completely in my hands
An unsettling thought
To be so in control
To be the only one to blame
If I should fall from my freedom of the class cage
If I should drown in the uncertain waters of the outside
It is easier this way
A prisoner I shall remain.

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design