The Wonder Remains
Tuesday, Apr. 06, 2010 - 2:14 PM

I have the best conversations with strangers. I just happen to be at that place, in that time, where someone just walks in the door and it leads to a long, thought-provoking learning experience. It happened a few months ago with that crazy old guy in the bar. Today, I was sitting on duty in the university art gallery for the Grad Exhibition where my newest piece is currently on display, and a guy walked in curiously. He said he had never been in before, and upon my asking if he was a first year student he replied that he was applying for a position teaching Sculpture and Drawing courses in the spring. He had just finished his M.FA at Concordia and was trying to get his foot in the door teaching at the university level. I asked him several questions about his work as a "professional artist" now that his schooling is over, and about the process of selling artwork which I have been recently pondering. He stayed for quite some time, almost lecturing me on all of the things he discovered about the world of art, the things they don't teach you when you're doing your undergrad.

Hearing about his experience and his advice was timely; only this morning I was looking over the website of a successful artist I was happy to be acquainted with this summer. I am finished with my undergrad, there is one week of classes left. It is time to think of what I'll be doing with my degree, time to think about what a major in Fine Arts with Studio Honours means--besides bragging rights.

I have recently been accepted into the University of Western Ontario and the University of Ottawa for a Bachelor in Education, specializing in both Visual Arts and History. The decision process is tormenting me. I want to be sure I make the right choices that will give me the best opportunities in the future. Which school is the better school, where will I be happier, or does it even matter? One year, just one year and I will have two degrees and will be within reaching distance of a career as an art teacher. It's exciting and frightening at the same time.

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design