You Bring Out the Worst in Me
Monday, Nov. 17, 2008 - 10:42 PM

"You bring out the worst in me"

He randomly showed up out of the blue with no warning. I should have suspected something when I got extra text messages, the more than usual curiosity of what I was doing that weekend. The idea flew through my mind at one point but I dismissed it almost immediately. I figured he would have told me if he ventured 10 hours away from his home to visit.

But he didn't. I was trying to sleep, had said goodnight to him via text an hour earlier, when he randomly walked into my room and flicked on the lights. I didn't know whether to be happy or mad so I was just indifferent. "What are you doing here? Yeah nice to see you but go away I'm trying to sleep" something to that effect. He left and said he'd get drunk and come back later. He did, at 4am, completely wasted and wanting attention. And wondering why I didn't seem happy to see him. Should I be happy to see him? Theres the question of the year.

Part of me was, because I was lonely and didn't mind the affection and the overnight company. I always feel better when I have someone sleeping next to me, even if I'm not happy with them at the moment. So of course I let him stay, and said if he needed a place to crash Saturday it was ok too.

The next night he showed up again at 4am. But this time he wasn't alone. He was with one of his friends, who I may have had relations with in the recent past. They jumped on my bed, pinned me down, and basically mocked me for having slept with the each of them, proposing to tag team me even though I knew (at least I hoped) they weren't serious. I had never felt so awkward, lying in the middle of two guys that had both seen me naked.

Eventually the second one left and He is just laughing at me. He says "That was worth every moment I spent with you, every miserable moment". I wonder if he's ever said anything more insulting. I simply retorted "Those moments were always your doing". He mentioned me harassing him last year telling him "to follow the yellow brick road" (probably in reference to the whole cheating on the girlfriend situation) but by then I was so annoyed that I just stopped talking to him and went to sleep, ignoring his advances and upon him asking what my problem was said "You can't just come over and be a jerk and then expect sex" and didn't say another word all night.

By morning my anger had worn off and he had apparently forgotten about being an ass (usually happens after a night of drinking). I nicely granted goodbye sex--if anything to get him to leave because he wouldn't have left without it-- and watched him walk down the road.

I let it sit for the day. Thought about it. Realized I had a pretty bad weekend worrying about him being around. My friends mentioned seeing him around town. He showed up at the basketball game where even more friends asked "Is that So-and-So? Whats he doing here? Did you know he was here?" And then him physically being around, intoxicated nearly the entire time he spent with me, just being an ass. I realized I'm so much better off without him around. So I sent him a txt, told him so.

"Why are you such a jerk to me, of all people?"

And thats when he says, "I've been asking myself that all day and think I have come to a few conclusions. But one major one that you don't want to hear"

"I do want to know, because I don't think its fair"

"Well to start I am untypically mean to you and sometimes even cruel, and you bring out some of the worst in me"

And thus the conversation ended, halted by the event of a snowstorm through which he was driving. Who txts while they drive anyway? To be continued I guess..

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design