Home for a While
Sunday, Jul. 27, 2008 - 1:47 AM

I feel like this summer is helping me heal. I am at a summer camp in the middle of nowhere, population 300-something. I work in arts and crafts where I teach kids how to make gimp/hemp bracelets, bead jewelry, and other miscellaneous things you can make with beads, wire, and string. I'm learning a lot from the staff, some who are better characters than others, and especially a lot from the kids.

The best part is that I am isolated from the outside world. I am allowed internet and phone access, but for the most part I choose not to take advantage of it most of the time. It feels like I am living in a different world, in a bubble that is smaller yet less complex than the one I live in at school. There are no complicated relationships (I've learned to stay away from those). My biggest worry is "what the hell am I going to do to entertain these kids today" or "I don't want to eat this for supper, what else can I eat instead".

Troubled thoughts of the past fade into mere memories, stored in a vault that I can open or close at will. It is easier not to think of these things when I'm living in this world that is completely different from the one I'm used to. I don't think of A Certain Person because there is nothing there to remind me of him except for things that may come up in conversation.

As much as I liked my little retreat, I was aching to return home. I missed my independance, the nonexistance of rules and social norms, and especially my favourite companion (the cat) and my other human friends. I'm home for two days, and I have mixed feelings. I am happy to be back, but at the same time being here makes me remember why I didn't like being home in the first place. All of the people and events that have pained me return as I walk through my house and lie on my bed, staring off into nothing. It will all eventually fade away to be replaced by more current memories, of that I'm sure, but the reminiscent feeling I get.. I wonder if that will ever leave. I hope so.

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design