The Art Show of Art Shows
Wednesday, Jan. 06, 2010 - 12:36 PM

All graduating Fine Arts students are given the opportunity to participate in the Grad Art Show; for most it is our first professional show. We are given funding and space in the university art gallery, we are also given guidance from the guest curator who this year is an Art History prof as well as M.FA prof at another university in Montreal. This is the biggest night of our lives as artists in our undergrad programme. I've been looking forward to it for four years. Last year when I visited the exhibition I had chills. These were my peers, and they were embarking on the journey that would take their BA and everything they learned into the real world. I would be there the following year.

The time has come for me to submit my ideas and my artist statement for the show. My work has to be done by the end of March, and suffice it to say that I am freaking out. I feel like my experience at school has drained me from all of my fabulous creative energy. I am not without talent or skill, but instead I am without that creative pulse that drives me. What do I do with myself? I have no ideas, and no desire to execute any artwork since I have been given so much more free time over the Christmas break. It is hard enough for me to complete the tattoos I am working on for several people.

I'm discouraged and borderline depressed over it. I have no passion in my life, and without that my artistic license means nothing.

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design