It's Time
Monday, Jun. 09, 2014 - 8:37 AM

I write this entry upon the signing of my 2-year teaching contract for a high school in England.

Who would've thought I would go so far? Literally and figuratively.

But it's happening, officially, it really is. I am going to be in England on August 26th and there I will begin my career as a high school art teacher. Finally, that little bulb of potential is going to have everything it needs to bloom.

I'm excited, scared, nervous, all of the things you would expect to feel. What I don't feel is attachment to the city of Montreal and the people in it, so what people imagine to be the hardest part of leaving is for me the easiest.

I'm ok with the fact that while I am gone I am going to miss key moments in my nephew's growing up. I will leave him as a baby and return to find a 3 or 4 year old. I'm ok with the fact that my 19 year old cat is probably not going to be here when I get back, and that I'm going to miss the end of his life, and not be there when he goes. That's a painful thought to have to say goodbye to my best buddy since childhood and knowing it's very likely the last time, but again, this is something I have thought about for a long time and in some ways I think maybe it's for the best. Maybe I'm being selfish, maybe he will miss me and want to wait for me and it will be hard for him to let go knowing I'm not there, but for me I think not being there and having to witness it happening.. it will hurt less that way.

Those were the only reasons I would have had for staying. And in the bigger scheme of life, those are things that unfortunately don't weight enough against this enormous opportunity that would warrant staying.

It's time. I know it's time. It's time to stop bullshitting, stop fucking around, stop procrastinating, and grow up and do what I'm meant to be doing. I'm going to be 27 in the fall. It's time.

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design