Up North Sickness
Monday, Mar. 24, 2014 - 8:53 PM

Spent the last four days sick.

Last Sunday I left for a nice little week up in Northern Quebec. Spent some time by the lovely fjord of Saguenay, although it was frozen solid it was still quite beautiful. Will have to go back in the summer one day. Then went to a Cree reserve for two nights, and it was quite great, I felt right at home there and didn't want to go back. Saw a little bit of traditional culture, made friends with the dogs that roamed the reserve, it was great. I wrote about it in the journal I brought with me so I won't really repeat here.

Back to Saguenay where we stayed two nights instead of one because of the snow. Friday they finally allowed us to come back to Montreal, but I woke in the morning with a headache, and found it impossible to do a morning yoga routine. Slept-- or rather, curled up in the backseat of the car-- the entire ride home. Was happy to be home because then at least I could die the entire weekend, which is exactly what I did. Saturday, on the couch. Sunday, on my friend/neighbor's couch. Monday, on the couch. Finally after four days of rest rest rest I am feeling slightly more alive.

I haven't been this sick since I was sick. Kind of brings me back, spending all that time alone on the couch feeling like roadkill.. Not a good feeling. And man I forgot how much being sick sucks! At the same time, I'm amazed it took me this long to get sick. Usually I am sick several times in the winter. This year I have been super conscious about what I have been eating, so it proves that makes a big difference. I went away for a week and my diet changed just enough that my body was weakened and prone to illness. Or maybe its coincidence. Or maybe I caught something from someone up north. I'm still sticking with my superfood diet hypothesis.

That's all. Just figured I would write now that I'm home and back to having somewhat coherent thoughts.

yesterday - tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | guestbook | notes | host | image | design